Select Page

Thompson Okanagan students receive scholarships

Thompson Okanagan students receive scholarships

Three students from the Thompson-Okanagan region have been recognized for their desire to contribute to society. The students will receive $5,000 scholarships from the Horatio Alger Association of Canada as part of the Horatio Alger Jim Pattison British Columbia Scholarship Program.

"We have an incredible group of scholars this year," said Pattison. "These young people have worked hard and persevered through difficulty. It is a privilege to be associated with these outstanding young Canadians."

Angela A. IppolitoBeattie School of the Arts, Kamloops, Jessica M. Flechner-Klein, Kelowna Christian School, Kelowna, and Jontaya T. Mayer, Mount Boucherie Secondary School, West Kelowna, are among the students being recognized. 

The Association offers scholarships to full-time high school students in British Columbia who have a critical financial need and have demonstrated integrity and perseverance in overcoming adversity, as well as strength of character, a good academic record, a commitment to pursue higher education, and a desire to contribute to society.

Pattison has been a member of the Horatio Alger Association since 2004.

The Association received nearly 3,500 applications in the four provinces in which it currently conducts scholarship programs. Overcoming both financial need and personal hardship, recipients were involved in community service activities, most worked part-time during the school year and achieved an average high school grade of 87 per cent. 

"This year's scholarship winners are an outstanding group of students who prove that hard work can overcome any obstacle," said Dominic D'Alessandro, President of the Horatio Alger Association of Canada. "It is with great pride that the Association helps these future leaders achieve their academic goals."

About the Horatio Alger Association of Canada

The Horatio Alger Association of Canada, the Canadian affiliate of the Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans, Inc., is a non-profit educational organization dedicated to the simple but powerful belief that hard work, honesty and determination can conquer all obstacles. The Association honours the achievements of outstanding individuals in our society who have succeeded in spite of adversity and who encourage young people to pursue their dreams through higher education.

Members of the Association include Dominic D'Alessandro, David FosterWayne GretzkyRebecca MacDonald, the late G. Wallace F. McCain, The Right Honourable Brian Mulroney, Jim PattisonIsadore SharpPrem WatsaRick Waugh, and Murray EdwardsSerge Godin will be inducted as the newest Canadian Association Member in April 2015. For more information, visit

Related Post

About The Author


Okanagan Life captures the essence of life in the Okanagan Valley with informative and entertaining features on issues that matter to people who live or vacation in this great region, plus stories on Okanagan destinations, personalities, wine, food, history, outdoor recreation and more. We're now in our 30th year of publishing. Subscribe

Current Issue


Current Issue

Oct | Nov 2018 Okanagan Life


Upcoming Events

7:30 pm Ballet Kelowna’s Autumn @ Kelowna Community Theatre
Ballet Kelowna’s Autumn @ Kelowna Community Theatre
Nov 17 @ 7:30 pm
Ballet Kelowna's Autumn @ Kelowna Community Theatre | Kelowna | British Columbia | Canada
Ballet Kelowna launches its 16th season of dance with Autumn, a dynamic mixed program presented at the Kelowna Community Theatre on November 16 and 17 at 7:30 pm. A multi-faceted celebration of the splendour of the[...]
6:00 pm 10th Annual Global Gala @ Delta Grand Resort
10th Annual Global Gala @ Delta Grand Resort
Nov 23 @ 6:00 pm
10th Annual Global Gala @ Delta Grand Resort | Kelowna | British Columbia | Canada
The fourth-year nursing students from the University of British Columbia (UBCO), in partnership with Okanagan-Zambia Health Initiative (OkaZHI), proudly host the 10th Annual Global Gala. The Global Gala is the formal charity event that features[...]
5:00 pm Summerland Festival of Lights @ Downtown Summerland
Summerland Festival of Lights @ Downtown Summerland
Nov 30 @ 5:00 pm – 9:00 pm
Summerland Festival of Lights @ Downtown Summerland | Victoria | Texas | United States
Summerland will switch-on of its downtown lights on Friday, November 30. Be treated to an evening of festive fun with a country twist. Presented by the Summerland Chamber of Commerce and the District of Summerland,[...]

Error: Please enter a valid email address

Error: Invalid email

Error: Please enter your first name

Error: Please enter your last name

Error: Please enter a username

Error: Please enter a password

Error: Please confirm your password

Error: Password and password confirmation do not match